European Union Immigration: Belgium

Belgium is divided into three regions: The Dutch-speaking Flanders in the north, the francophone Wallonia in the south and the bilingual capital Brussels, where French and Dutch share official status. Also, there is a small minority in the eastern part of the country who speak German. Belgium has a varied landscape with 67 kilometers of sea coast and flat coastal plains along the North Sea. In addition, a central plateau and the rolling hills and forests of the Ardennes region in the south. In 2012, the most important sectors of Belgium’s economy were public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (22.8 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (19.9 %) and industry (15.9%). Important partners for both export and import are Germany, France and the Netherlands.

Geographical size
30 528.0 km2
11 094 850 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
2.2 % (2012)
€ 375.881 billion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Dutch, French and German
Political system
Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy
EU member country since
25 March 1957
Seats in the European Parliament
Eurozone member since 1 January 1999
Schengen area member
Yes, Schengen Area member since 14 June 1985
Presidency of the Council
Belgium has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1958 and 2010