European Union Immigration: Croatia

Croatia has been an independent country since 1991. It borders to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia. It also has a coastline with the Adriatic Sea, where they have 1 000 islands and islets. Only 48 of these are permanently inhabited. Sectors that was important as of 2012 for Croatia, were industry (20.9 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.1 %) and public administration, defence education, human health and social work activities (16.0 %). Croatia’s main export partners are Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Germany. Their main import partners are Italy, Germany and Russia.

Geographical size
87 661.0 km2
4 275 984 (2012)
Population as % of total EU population
0.8 % (2012)
€ 43.682 billion (2012)
Official EU language(s)
Political system
Parliamentary republic
EU member country since
1 July 2013
Seats in the European Parliament
Croatian Kuna HRK
Schengen area member
No, Croatia is not a member of the Schengen Area.
Presidency of the Council
Croatia has so far not held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU.